Founded: 1987

    Clamp is an all-female Japanese manga artist group that formed in the mid-1980s. It consists of leader Nanase Ohkawa and three artists whose roles shift for each series: Mokona, Tsubaki Nekoi, and Satsuki Igarashi. Almost 100 million Clamp tankōbon copies have been sold worldwide as of October 2007.

    Beginning as an eleven-member dōjinshi circle in the mid-1980s, they began creating original work in 1987. By the time they debuted with RG Veda in 1989, the group was reduced to seven members. In 1993, three more members left, leaving the four members who are currently still part of the group.

    Current members: 

    CLAMP is a four-woman manga studio:

    - Ohkawa Ageha (leader; story & script)

    - Apapa Mokona (lead artist; colorist)

    - Neko Tsubaki (art assistant; chibi artist)

    - Igarashi Satsuki (design; art assistant)

    Former Members:


    NANAO Sei

    AKIYAMA Tamayo

    SEI Leeza

    HISHIKA Soushi

    NAKAMORI Kazue

    OUMI Shinya


    View All