Comics Underground Japan

    Completed | 14 chapters
    Add to Favorites
      Comics Underground Japan presents the wild, subversive world of Japan’s most accomplished underground comics artists. Some of the dozen artists included in this anthology will be familiar to followers of manga; others make their American debut in these pages. The richly imaginative stories in this volume show a great range of graphic style, from painstakingly detailed craftsmanship to exuberant, maniacal renderings. At the heart of each work in this anthology is a unique personal vision and a fierce artistic compulsion–these manga artists are the misfits of the art form, and they are its visionaries.

      Included stories are:
      1. "Hell's Angel" by Yoshikaze Ebisu
      2. "It's All Right if You Don't Understand" by Yoshikaze Ebisu
      3. "Steel Pipe Melancholia" by Masakazu Toma
      4. "Future Sperm Brazil" by Takashi Nemoto
      5. "A Love Like Lemons" by Carol Shimoda
      6. "Selfish Carol's Summer Vacation" by Carol Shimoda
      7. "Mercy Flesh (Jiniku)" by Kazuichi Hanawa
      8. "Don Quixote #1 & #2" by Yasuji Tanioka
      9. "Planet of the Jap" by Suehiro Maruo
      10. "Mary’s Asshole" by Hanako Yamada
      11. "Volvox" by Pan Migawa
      12. "Bigger and Better" by Muddy Wehara
      13. "Laughing Ball" by Hideshi Hino
      14. "Cat Noodle Soup" by Hajime Yamano & Nekojiro






      English PublisherBlast Books
      Published1981 to 1996
      Original PublisherSeirin Kogeisha
      Last UpdatedSeptember 27, 2018
      Other namesHell's Angel, It's All Right if You Don't Understand, Steel Pipe Melancholia, Future Sperm Brazil, A Love Like Lemons, Selfish Carol's Summer Vacation, Mercy Flesh (Jiniku), Don Quixote, Planet of the Jap, Mary’s Asshole, Volvox, Bigger and Better, Laughing Ball, Cat Noodle Soup